Boys Varsity Wrestling · Northview claims three sectional titles; advance six to wrestling regional

Northview High School will be well represented in this weekend’s Bloomington South Wrestling Regional.

Cale McCoy, Stephen Gibson and Jacob Hendrich claimed individual championships for the Knights as Northview placed fourth as a team. Austin Cook finished second at 120 pounds and both Michael Heading and Marcus Duregger won third-place matches to bring Northview’s regional contingent to a total of six. Tyler Paul and Bryce Starkey narrowly missed out as they both wrestled above their seeds and placed sixth.


Northview senior Cale McCoy (top) controls his opponent in the championship match on his way to his first sectional championship.McCoy took care of business as the top seed at 138 pounds with a 10-0 win over Seth Hancock of Sullivan in the championship match. McCoy won his first match by pin and advanced to the final with a 5-1 decision over Bloomington South’s Blake Webb.



Stephen Gibson (top) stands atop the 145-pound podium after winning the sectional championship.

Northview’s Jacob Hendrich (left) keeps his opponent from lunging out of bounds in the championship bout. Hendrich went on to claim his first sectional title

Top-four individuals in each class advance to regional

Team scores: Bloomington South 213.5, Edgewood 205.5, Bloomington North 143.5, Northview 131, Sullivan 118, Terre Haute North 103, West Vigo 90, Terre Haute South 86.5, Owen Valley 53.5, North Knox 49

106: 1. Paul Pinkham (BS) wins by decision over Logan Stephenson (THS), 8-3; 3. Morgan McGlothlin (BN) wins by fall over Noah Gardner (EW), 0:18

113: 1. Luke Stull (BS) wins by decision over Caleb Gosney (BN), 4-2; 3. Zane Sullivan (EW) wins by tech. fall over Adam Elia (THN), 15-0

120: 1. Noah Hunt (BS) wins by decision over Austin Cook (Nv), 6-0; 3. Daniel Bradburn (EW) wins by fall over Peyton Webster (THN), 4:59

126: 1. Derek Blubaugh (BS) wins by fall over Carson Deckard (EW), 4:52; 3. Quentin Percival (BN) wins by decision over Zack Tussey (OV), 6-2

132: 1. Levi Swinney (EW) wins by decision over Austin Clement (BS), 3-0; 3. Brandon Smith (SL) wins by fall over Wyatt Dalton (BN), 2:50

138: 1. Cale McCoy (Nview) wins by major decision over Seth Hancock (SL), 10-0; 3. Colten Foster (NK) wins by injury default over Blake Webb (BS)

145: 1. Stephen Gibson (Nview) wins by fall over Wes Bedwell (SL), 0:56; 3. Robert Pinkham (BS) wins by decision over Austin Heckman (EW), 2-1

152: 1. Denver Aydelott (EW) wins by major decision over Devan Tussey (OV), 15-2; 3. Michael Heading (Nview) wins by decision over Tyler Schlegel (BS), 8-5

160: 1. Conor Hay (BS) wins by decision over Jon Inman (BN), 5-4; 3. Eyan Coldren (EW) wins by fall over Cejay Hardy (NK), 4:09

170: 1. Jacob Hendrich (Nview) wins by decision over Thomas Dull (THN), 3-2; 3. Nathan Queen (SL) wins by decision over Daymien Bomgardner (EW), 11-9

182: 1. Hunter Dalton (BN) wins by fall over Joe Creasey (WV), 3:03; 3. Marcus Duregger (Nview) wins by fall over Ike Murrell (THN), 1:22

195: 1. Ty Robinson (BS) wins by fall over Tristan Nicholas (SL), 1:06; 3. Zachary Wade (BN) wins by fall over Josh Beasley (WV), 2:46

220: 1. Chase Dixon (BS) wins by major decision over Abel Rivera (THS), 9-1; 3. Dakota Short (WV) wins by decision over David Wilson (EW), 4-3

285: 1. Conor Dwyer (THN) wins fall over Kell Williams (SL), 3:35; 3. Harley Hillenburg (BS) wins by major decision over Bryce Nuckels (NK), 10-1